Tags

, , ,

Image

“If you had faith as big as a mustard seed, you could say to this mulberry tree, ‘Pull yourself up by the roots and plant yourself up by the roots and plant yourself in the sea!’ and it would obey you.” Luke 17:6

 

This verse got me thinking about my faith. I don’t understand the nature of language back in Jesus’s time. Were they this hyperbolic? Or did He mean it literary.

 

More than 2000 years after Jesus ascended back to Heaven, many sceptics, non-believers and atheist alike have question Jesus’s preaching. In their sceptical mind they atheistically might question, “How on earth you could a tree to do something let alone to plant itself in the sea?”

 

In my layperson view of this verse is as simple as I always thought my life would be.

 

  1.        As little as our faiths could be or we thought about faiths is, grow in those faiths.

Mustard seed or any seed grows. Seed is not meant to be seed forever. It grows into a tree.

That is how our faith should be.

 

  1.        Once we grow in our faiths, the things that we can do are beyond human comprehension.

In fact what we can do with our faiths, sometimes can be ridiculous in humans’ eyes.

Looking back a year ago, I never thought I would be working as writer, happily living alone in my messy rented room far from my family (I love family but I enjoy living on my own) and gleefully dating one of the closest, trusted friends I have.

In human comprehension of my life, I could never work as a writer because English, journalism, creative writing weren’t even my education background. I could never live alone because with my family I should have been more financially secure. In human comprehension of my life too, I could never date my boyfriend because he is the good boy who was always the first to raise his hand to testify about his faith in church gathering and I am the vain, ignorant and occasionally wild girl who happened to be active in church girl because of her upbringings.

 

Why and how all these blessings did came upon me?

 

Have my faith save me?

 

No, He saves me.

 

My faith is still growing; although sometimes the growth is retarded by the ugliness of my sins. But in my pathetic and slow pace of growing in my faith, I always believe Jesus is the sunlight and rain that allows my seed of faith to grow.

